SAGE Conference 2018


 8 – 10 August, 2018
Avenues: The World School
New York, USA

Conference Theme

Develop future world-wise leaders uniquely equipped to understand and solve global scale problems.

Desired outcomes
  • Design an experience that meets the objectives of SAGE and Avenues’ mission
    What is SAGE: Organization that unites top forward looking and innovative schools from around the world with the aim of bringing educators together to form professional networks that allow wider and deeper sharing of pedagogical ideas, resources and best practices. Three specialist sectors of SAGE:
    1. Bicultural Education
    2. Digital Education
    3. Experiential Learning
  • Communicate what Avenues does best
  • Foster communication and networks among member schools and other peer schools in our area
AGENDA

Thursday, August 9 (8:30 am – 5:00 pm)

Time Topic
8.30 Breakfast (continental buffet and coffee)
9.00 Theme: Can Empathy be Taught?
09:00 – 09:45
Avenues World Elements (David Palumbo)09:50 – 10:10
Putting Writing into Perspective: Cultivating Empathy through High Intensity Writing Practice (Julia Higdon)

10:10 – 10:40
Student Leadership and Empathy (Siew Hui Sim-Lim, Hwa Chong Institution)

10:40 – 10:50 Transition

10:50 – 12:00
Panel – importance of empathy (Moderator: Tim Carr)
• Jenna Arnold, Co-Founder, ORGANIZE,
• Sophie Menin, Cultural journalist,
• Agnes Ng, Nanyang Girls’ High School,
• Jie Zhou, Shanghai No. 3 Girls’ High School,
• Julia Higdon, Avenues: The World School

12.00 Triad Time and Lunch
1.00 Theme: Bilingualism, Does It Matter?
1:00 – 2:00
Bilingualism: Controversies, Myths, Misconceptions, and the Real Deal.,(Alison Mackey)2:15 – 3:00 Session A

  • Group 1: Passport Program, Metalinguistics Language Learning (Alison Mackey)
  • Group 2: East meets the West (Chinese Book Project) (Abby Brody, Ying-Wen Chen)

3:00- 3:15 Break

3:15 – 4:00 Session B

  • Group 1: East meets the West (Chinese Book Project) (Abby Brody, Ying-Wen Chen)
  • Group 2: Passport Program, Metalinguistics Language Learning (Alison Mackey)
4.00 Triad time
4.15 School tour (optional)
5.15 End

Friday, August 10 (8:00 am – 12:30 pm)

Time Topic
8.00 Breakfast (continental buffet and coffee)
8.30 Theme: How Can Real-World Learning Transform Schools?
Project-Based Learning: A Constructivist Approach to Transformational Understanding (Jeff Robin)9:15 – 10:00 Session A

  • Group 1: Mastery Academy Showcase (Austin Volz / Tim Carr)
  • Group 2: Mastery Program (Mark Gutkowski)

10:00 – 10:15 Break
10:15 – 11:00 Session B

  • Group 1: Mastery Program (Mark Gutkowski)
  • Group 2: Mastery Academy Showcase (Austin Volz / Tim Carr)

11:15 – 12:15 Next Transformative Steps Workshop (Facilitator: Tim Carr)

12.15 Closing
12.30 End
Conference Attendees

Academy of St. Joseph (New York)
Angela Coombs, Head of School
acoombs@aosj.us

Affiliated High School of Peking University (Beijing)
Liu Chiang, Assistant to Principal
liuchiang@pkuschool.edu.cn
Zheng Wang, Principal
wangzheng@pkuschool.edu.cn

Avenues: The World School (New York)
Abby Brody
abrody@avenues.org
Bernard Geoxavier, Dean of Students, Grades 6-9
bgeoxavier@avenues.org
Ed Huang, Vice President, Information Systems and Technology
ehuang@avenues.org
Kevin Murungi, Director, Global Journeys
kmurungi@avenues.org
Min Kim, Vice President, People and Culture
mkim@avenues.org
Nancy Shulman, Head of Early Learning Center
nschulman@avenues.org
Ted Ogden, Associate Division Head, Middle Grades
togden@avenues.org
Tim Carr, Director, Research & Development
tcarr@avenues.org
Wendy Chang, Director Deans & College Counseling
wendy.chang@avenues.org

Buckley Country Day School (Roslyn, NY)
Colleen Fortuna, Director, Admissions & Financial Aid
cfortuna@buckleycountryday.com
Jean-Marc Juhel, Head of School
jmjuhel@buckleycountryday.com
Linda Bernard, Head of Upper School
lbernard@buckleycountryday.com
Marjorie Jean-Paul, Director, Development & Alumni Relations
mjeanpaul@buckleycountryday.com
Lynn Sullivan, Director of Diversity and Inclusion
lsullivan@buckleycountryday.com 

Camberwell Girls Grammar School (Victoria, AUS)
Eleanor Wood, Head of Science Department
woode@cggs.vic.edu.au
Karen Lemanis, History and Science Teacher
LemanisK@cggs.vic.edu.au
Kath Woolcock
WoolcockK@cggs.vic.edu.au
Nicole Rogers, Head of Strategic Initiatives
rogersN@cggs.vic.edu.au

Hwa Chong Institution (Singapore)
Siew Hui Lim, Principal Consultant for Student Development
limsh@hci.edu.sg

Nanshan High School (Taipei)
Wen-Ya Tsai, English Teacher
vickytsai@nssh.ntpcedu.tw
Ya-Ti Huang, Director of English Department
huangyati@gmail.com
Yen-Hong Liu, Director of Foreign Language Center
andyliu@nssh.ntpc.edu.tw

Nanyang Girl’s High School (Singapore)
Agnes Ng, Dean of Relations and Communications
ng_mien_mien_agnes@nygh.edu.sg

Oulunkylän Yhteiskoulu (Helsinki)
Marjo Kurki-Mäkelin, Vice Principal
marjo.kurki-makelin@oulunkylanyhteiskoulu.fi
Ritta Nevala, Teacher, Home Economics and Healthcare
riitta.nevala@oulunkylanyhteiskoulu.fi

Pathways School Gurgaon (Delhi)
Megha Oberoi, Diploma Program Coordinator
megha.oberoi@pathways.in
Rohit Bajaj, School Director
rohit.bajaj@pathways.in 

RDFZ Xishan School (Beijing)
Ching Ya Ooi, Assistance Vice Principal
ooichingya@gmail.com
Jiayin Pu, Vice Principal, Academic
pujiayin@rdfz.cn
Ping Yu, Teacher
yuping@rdfz.cn
Yan Liu, Principal
liuyanyan@rdfz.cn

School of Science and Technology (Singapore)
Linda Chan, Principal
linda_chan@sst.edu.sg
Vincent Tan, Vice Principal (Administration)
vincent_tan@sst.edu.sg

Shanghai No. 3 Girls’ High School (Shanghai)
Jie Zhou, Teacher
pkuzhoujie@163.com
Ling Qin, Teacher
13761029448@126.com

The Perse School (Cambridge)
Dan Cross, Senior Deputy Head
Drcross@perse.co.uk

The Speyer Legacy School (New York)
Barbara Tischler, Head of School
btischler@speyerschool.org

Woodland Hill Montessori School (New York)
Susan Kambrich, Head of School
skambrich@woodlandhill.org